Moving into Our New House, in Numbers

I’ve always been quick to acclimate to change.

For new situations, new locations or, in this case, new homes, I ride my emotional roller coaster then move on, taking the change as a normality.

It’s officially been a week since our move to the new house and though I already feel like the queen of the castle my body and mind have yet to fully relax from the rat race that was the construction of the house. It was a process, a very stressful, very new process that still has my brain whirling! So in true From Italy fashion (See: Parent’s Visit, Year in Italy and Teaching Small Children posts) let’s check out the numbers:

16: months spent in our little, beautiful apartment in Monza, our first.

6: months spent remodeling and working on the new place

12: average hours worked on the weekends

5: different estimates for kitchens

1,091: different ceramic tile options

3: average time per hour someone asked me something I was completely unqualified to answer. “What color do I want the light switch covers? Um, What color do most people choose?”

2: average times I asked what most people do…

53: new words – at least! – learned in Italian (molding, varnish, those light covers that aren’t hanging but more flat-like whose name I don’t even know in English.)

5: hours spent choosing five lamps – are you kidding me?!

1: 9-foot tall bookshelf to clear, clean, take down then reassemble.

7: possible respiratory diseases I now have from the dust of said bookshelf.

2 out of 3: times the conversation was innocently changed to the new house. “That ice cream place is really good.” – “oh yeah? I wonder if there is a good ice cream place in Sovico. Where there’s my new house. Did you know I’m moving?”

17: times per month one or the other of us had a breakdown in Ikea. Get lost? Curl in the fetal position in the closet and wardrobe section, someone will find you eventually.

I know Ikea's rat maze like the back of my hand (take the shortcut in rugs!)

3: times we called our couch-man. His final response? “Oh yeah, your bed will be here by the end of the month.”

6: months it took of similar responses to learn to just shrug my shoulders and know that someway or another I’ll get my couch.

This entry was posted in Italy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moving into Our New House, in Numbers

  1. journeyfiles says:

    Familiar situation but looking back it’s all fun ;)

  2. Gina says:

    That’s great to hear! I hope you find it useful, or at the very least interesting! What part are you moving to?

  3. Gina Peart says:

    Great post Gina Marie! I love your blogs “in numbers”. You make me laugh! xo

  4. Uncle Scott says:

    So what’s your new house number?

  5. Pingback: Teaching English in Italy: An Irreverent Guide | From Italy, With Love

Leave a Reply

