Weird Conversations I’ve had Since My Number Has Been On The Internet

Shortly after I moved to Italy I published announcements on various websites offering my services as an English tutor/teacher/translator. I needed a job and I needed one fast, and luckily for me there is a high demand for a native English speaker in Italy.

I’ve had nothing but a successful, positive experience teaching English in the seven months I’ve been here. I’ve met wonderful people and have learned a lot about myself, teaching, languages and cultures. That being said, it’s an interpersonal job, and I’ve definitely had my fair share of strange interactions.

Exhibit A

Exhibit A

I guess that’s what I get for putting my number on the internet…

Weird Conversations I’ve had Since My Number Has Been On The Internet:

“Ciao Vale This is Ema. I can’t pass by I’m at work. It’s a shame, I wanted to taste your stupendous little feet….tonight? Send a text I’m at work.”

My response: “Wrong number”

“I received your text but I don’t understand…?”

In which I copied and pasted what he sent me, saying “you sent me this”

He said: “Oh damn! I’m sorry! Are you mad?!?”

I couldn’t help myself, I responded: “No, but it’s probably better if you send it to the right number!”

And his last response? “Yeah, I thought it was strange that my friend didn’t respond to me. What a bad impression….Emanuele by the way.

I didn’t respond.

__________

And in email form:

“You’re stupendous ciao”

why thank you!

why thank you!

__________

“Ciao. I’m looking for someone to travel with me to Tunisia for the first week of September. Everyone is working and I don’t want to go alone at all.. Ciao let me know. Davide.”

Things were getting weird with all the texts I had gotten, so I asked: “Excuse me, how did you find this number?”

He said: “??? What? Sorry but this isn’t Elena from the bar?”

Nope, wrong number.

________

I’ve never put my number on the internet. Apparently, this is what can happen! People with foot fetishes and invites to travel the world…

Later, I had a very apologetic and slightly embarrassed Englishman call me and say that he collects used shoes, saw I was American, and wanted to know if I had a pair of American boat shoes I would sell him.

Just one more conversation that college definitely didn’t prepare me for…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weird Conversations I’ve had Since My Number Has Been On The Internet

  1. Gina Peart says:

    laughing ginamarie, such a hoot!!!! xo

  2. Nicole says:

    I will sell him my shoes. Give him my # please.

Leave a Reply

