Leap and The Net Will Appear

Ciao ragazzi!

Before I dive in and start describing my adventures in Italy, I’d like to explain my choice of username and header, both of which come from songs of one of my favorite artists, Jason Mraz. I know the URL “Falling all over the world” easily applies to the content of this blog–my experiences studying abroad–but I chose it because it also represents how I’ve fallen completely in love with traveling and well, the world!

Talking with other people who have studied abroad (“you have to do it!” “you won’t regret it!” “Going abroad was the time of my life!”) it is easy to be encouraged and convinced to pack up everything and jet off to the coolest sounding country. However, wanting to study abroad and actually doing it are two totally different things. It is a big, scary step with a lot of annoying, difficult preparations (apply for your visa early to prevent a four-hour car trip to the nearest consulate) that require some actual thought and decision-making.

Okay, I’m done with the responsible adult spiel, what comes next is the DO IT! part.

There are a thousand reasons someone can create to not go after things they want (yes life is scary) OR you could just leap and have faith that life will give you a safety net, even if it’s not the one you were expecting.  The title of my blog is from a Mraz song titled “Make it Mine.” The opening lines say, “Wake up everyone / How can you sleep at a time like this? / Unless the dreamer is the real you?” Since I landed in Rome two months ago, I’ve had the constant feeling that maybe the dreamer is the real me. I did it! I defeated money issues, visa issues, time issues and doubters (including myself) and now I’m living my dream and learning Italian in Italy!

“Well, I don’t wanna wait no more
Oh, I wanna celebrate the whole world
I’m gonna make it mine”

~Gina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

